Bridging the Gap between Scientists and the Public – Dialogue with Distinguished Scholars on Science, Risk, and Health Communication

Bridging the Gap between Scientists and the Public – Dialogue with Distinguished Scholars on Science, Risk, and Health Communication

Panel 1 — Bridging the Communication Gap between Scientific Experts and the Public

Date: 27 April 2021 (Tue)
Time: 8pm – 9:30pm (HKT) / 8am – 9:30am (EST) / 9pm – 10:30pm (JST)
Zoom: https://bit.ly/31sovMr 
Meeting ID: 920 2057 5419
Passcode: 465100
Speakers & Topics:
Diffusion of scientific information to key populations to promote health
by Prof Gary L KREPS, University Distinguished Professor of Communication and Founding Director of the Center for Health and Risk Communication, George Mason University
Bridging the gap between scientific experts and publics through science-public relations: First-hand encounter from the field
by Prof Deanna SELLNOW, Professor and Assistant Director, Nicholson School of Communication, and
Prof Timothy SELLNOW, Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Nicholson School of Communication and Media, the University of Central Florida and Media University of Central Florida
Gap in Fukushima: Post accident recovery gaps and future
by Prof Atsushi KUMAGAI, Group Leader of Medical Group, Department of Radiation Emergency Medicine, National Institute of Radiological Sciences, The National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology

Please click here to learn more about the details and abstract of the topics.

Panel 2 — Meeting with Editors: Science, Risk, and Human Behaviour

Date: 28 April 2021 (Wed)
Time:
28 April 2021 (Wed): 8:30am – 10am (HKT) / 12:30am – 2am (GMT) /
27 April 2021 (Tue) 7:30pm – 9pm (CST) / 6:30pm – 8pm (MST)
Zoom: https://bit.ly/3lYTPfc
Meeting ID: 997 3931 2954
Passcode: 528753
Speakers & Topics:
Human behaviour research and its communication in pandemic times
by Dr Stavroula KOUSTA, Editor, Nature Human Behavior, Nature Publishing Group
Uncertainty, politics, and theory: Applications of health communication theory to the COVID-19 pandemic
by Prof Teresa L THOMPSON, Editor, Health Communication; Professor Emerita, College of Arts and Sciences: Communication, University of Dayton
Communicating more clearly about deaths caused by exposures
by Prof Louis Anthony (Tony) COX, Jr, Editor, Risk Analysis; Associate Professor, University of Colorado

Please click here to learn more about the details and abstract of the topics.

  • 00

    days

  • 00

    hours

  • 00

    minutes

  • 00

    seconds

Tags:

Date

27 Apr 2021 - 28 Apr 2021
Category

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *